- You can free up iCloud storage space by deleting your old data.
- Old backups and caches will gradually take over iCloud storage capacity.
- But you can manage it while keeping the newest versions of important documents with Time Machine backup.
The short answer is no—deleting your old iPhone backup from iCloud will not affect any of the data on your actual iPhone. In fact, even deleting the backup of your current iPhone will have little impact to what is currently on this device.
When iCloud backup is turned on your new iPhone or iPad will reset automatically and you don’t have to set it up from scratch.
Deleting an old iCloud backup (when you have a current iPhone in your possession) has no impact on what’s actually on your device.