STEP 1: Use the link in this email to go to the Delete Account page.
STEP 2: On the Delete Account page, enter your password and click Continue.
STEP 3: Wait for the Success page to appear and you will receive an email confirming deletion of your account.
If you don’t want to keep your account active, you can disable it by going here.
However, please be aware that disabling your account will result in the loss of all information saved within it. Your purchases will be refunded.
Once you have disabled your IMVU account, we cannot reactivate it for any reason whatsoever. The contents of your account (including credits or currency) are yours to do with as you wish upon disabling and deletion. If this includes sending items or credits to another user, then no refunds or returns are possible once the transaction has been completed.[/ARTICLE START]
Welcome back! To bring you up-to-date on changes since I last posted: As of January 2016, a new feature called “Marketplace” has been added to IMVU (which is now referred to as the “Client”). You can access it by clicking on the icon in the top right of your screen. It basically allows you to buy a variety of things directly from other users.
Another change: IMVU has added “Balls” with which you can play games in addition to collecting them from content. Balls are available in larger quantities as rewards for completing various tasks and can also be won at random when playing certain games. (Technically, the Ball system replaced the previously existing Coin system.) Please see this post for details on how many Balls you’ll get for different activities. You don’t have to collect balls to participate in activities.
A few other changes: As of April 2016, IMVU will be using a “Currency” system instead of Credits/Money and Currency cards will no longer be sold on the Marketplace. Please see this post for details. Also, you can now request an item ID from another user so that you know exactly what it is. In order to do this, click on their avatar and then click “Request Item ID.” This is very handy if you’ve received an item as a gift but don’t know what it looks like! You can also add a description of the item before requesting the ID by clicking on the gear icon next to “Request Item ID” and choosing “Add Description.” As always.
You can disable your IMVU account by visiting https://www.imvu.com/sign-in/, then clicking on “Account”, then click on the orange text that says, “Sign In” to visit the account management page.
Click on the button labelled, “Delete My Account”. Read all the information given to you and then click “Delete Account”.
IMVU will show you a confirmation screen. Click, “Yes, delete my account.” You can also unsubscribe from email by checking the box for “Unsubscribe me from the IMVU newsletter” and your choice of language to opt out of push notifications (or both!) before clicking on “Delete My Account”.
Please note that when an account is deleted, it cannot be recovered. If you wish to keep your avatar as well as all content associated with that avatar, please login and save it first before proceeding.
What happens if I disable my account?
When you disable your account, it will not be visible to anyone else. All of the information associated with your account will be deleted after 14 days.
IMVU cannot retrieve or restore accounts once they’re disabled. Accounts are permanently deleted and cannot be recovered under any circumstances. Please make sure that you take all necessary steps before disabling your account so that you can save your avatar and content if desired.
What happens to my IMVU credits when I close/disable my account?
When an account is closed, there’s a seven day hold on unused credits from payment(s) for goods made during the past 30 days prior to closing the account (if applicable). Credits received from gifting within the same period are also returned back to the sender’s account.
Your IMVU credits are returned to your account; except for any purchased items that were delivered during a period of 30 days prior to closing your account, which will be missing from your inventory. To retrieve these purchases after you’ve closed your account, you must re-open an IMVU credit card and pay full price for those items. After doing so, they will appear in your inventory again.
IMVU cannot assist with retrieving or restoring accounts once they’re disabled because we do not keep a record of them. This is why it’s so important to make sure that everyone who received content from you has copied it into their own inventories before going through the deletion process as outlined above since they will.
IMVU account holders have the choice to either deactivate an account, or leave it running.
If you voluntarily disabled your account or encountered login problems, check the inbox of your IMVU email address. You will receive a confirmation email that contains an activation link that you can click to become reactivated.
Step 1: Visit the official website of IMVU.
Step 2: Sign in to your account with the username and password.
Step 3: Click on the ‘Account Setting’ tab for easy deletion of account and all its contents from virtual life.
You should have received an email with the subject “IMVU Alert: Your account has been deleted.” That email includes instructions to reactivate your account and an address to click. If you are unable to find that email, or if it didn’t work, we can still help you. Simply file a Support ticket through our Help Center.