There may come a time when you’d want or need to permanently disconnect from your social platforms. Maybe you want to present a better image to your future employer or want to lessen the noise in your life. One way of disconnecting is to permanently log out of your Instagram account. To do that, you’d have to delete your account. This article includes a detailed guide on How do I permanently log out of Instagram.
Secure a copy of your Instagram data
1. Before deleting your Instagram account and permanently logging off, saving your Instagram data may be a good idea. If you back up your data, you’ll be able to save all of your pictures and videos. Even the comments and likes will be saved in case you change your mind and want to sign up for a new Instagram account in the future. To do this, launch the app and go to your profile page by tapping the profile icon. This is at the bottom left side of the screen.
2. Open the settings menu by tapping on the hamburger icon at the top right part of the screen. Select “Settings” from the list.
3. On the search box, search for download. Tap on “Download your information.” This will allow you to get a copy of all your Instagram data.
4. A window will appear asking you for your email address. Enter the needed information, then tap on the “Request Download” button.
5. Instagram will email you a copy of all your Instagram data in 48 hours or less. It should have “Your Instagram Data” in the subject line.
6. In the email, you’ll find a blue button with “Download Data” on it. Click on that to launch the app again.
7. Log into the account and tap on the “Download Data” option. This should start the download process. Once that’s done, you can proceed to delete your account permanently.
Delete your account on the Instagram website
1. Go to https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/ to access the “Delete your account” page on any browser. You can do this on your mobile device or computer. Make sure you’re logged into the account you want to log out from permanently. If not, sign in first, then click on the link.
2. Answer the question regarding your reason for deleting the account. Choose from the list on the drop-down menu.
3. After choosing a reason, you will see a box to re-enter your password. Type your account password, then click the blue “Delete [account name]” button at the bottom. You will also see a note indicating when your account will be hidden before it gets permanently deleted by Instagram. After that period, you will no longer be able to log into your account.
FAQs On How do I permanently log out of Instagram?
Go to your profile page, then tap on the settings menu. From there, choose the multi-account log-in option. Find the account you wish to remove and tap next to it. Confirm the removal process by tapping on the “Remove” option again.
To disable the auto login feature:
1. Launch the app.
2. Go to your profile page, then tap on the menu to access the settings.
3. Once there, find the “Privacy & Security” option. You should select the “Saved Login Info” and disable the function.
Yes. You can temporarily disable your account. Doing so will hide not only your photos and interactions but it will also hide your profile.
There is no time limit for the feature to temporarily disable your Instagram account. You can keep it disabled for as long as you need.
Temporarily disabling your Instagram account means users cannot see your profile or your posts. Your contacts will not be notified.
When you delete your account on Instagram, all your entries will be removed permanently. However, any direct messages you sent will not be erased. They will still be visible to the receiver.
Read another article on How To Know If Someone Reported Me On Instagram.