- To access your account settings, go to the menu selection of your account and tap “Profile.”
- Tap Settings.
- Tap Login Info.
- Next to the account you want to delete, select “Remove”.
You can remove any account you’ve added to Instagram by going to the Profile page of the account you want gone, tapping on the three-dot menu button in the upper right corner, then choosing ‘Remove.’
If you no longer want an account’s posts showing up in your feed, but don’t necessarily want to unfollow them either, deleting that profile from your list of friends is an option. You may lose some insight into what’s happening with accounts and users whose content you used to enjoy though, so make sure it’s worth losing out on their updates before pulling the trigger. You can always re-add accounts as friends (or follow them again) later.
Unfortunately, no. You’ll have to go through and erase each account separately. That means you can’t use this process to selectively unfollow users who are spamming your feed. For that, you’ll still want to employ the ‘Hide from Feed’ feature in Instagram’s settings ).
If you’ve added an account as a friend on Instagram , but decide you don’t want to see its posts show up in your feed anymore, deleting it is the way to go (just make sure that’s what you really want!). Accounts that were friends with deleted accounts will still be able to see updates for them in their feed, but they won’t be able to comment or like on those posts.
If you’ve added a business account (or thought it was an individual user and didn’t mean to follow it), then deleting the profile from your list of friends is probably the best course of action. If you’d rather have your other Instagram followers see updates from that business though, simply hiding its posts from your feed should do the trick. Just make sure you use the ‘Hide from Feed’ feature instead of doing so by unfollowing accounts ; hiding requires less effort than removing someone as a friend, plus it’s lower impact on both your feed and the targeted account’s reach.
What happens if I delete my own account?
If you decide to delete your Instagram profile, your account will become a ghost town within 24 hours of deletion (depending on when you deleted it). Even if you used the ‘Hide from Feed’ feature before deleting (which will prevent others from seeing updates for that account in their feed), the profile page itself will remain visible and viewable by users who click through to it. Hiding vs deleting: How to hide an Instagram profile pic.twitter
The Instagram Blog (@InstagramBlog) December 6, 2018 As you can see in the tweet above from Instagram’s official account, there are two main differences between hiding and deleting a profile: • When you hide an account , other users will still see updates for it in their feed. If you delete a profile , this won’t be the case. • When you hide an account , that page will eventually disappear from your followers’ Explore page and search results. If you delete a profile , those pages will remain visible to others indefinitely.
If you delete someone else’s Instagram profile, that account (and any associated accounts like Instagram Stories ) will disappear from your feed within 24 hours (or sooner, if the profile’s owner deleted it from their end).
I’ve done this before, and it didn’t work. They were able to access the app right away and use the account without a problem. If you want to give someone else your login information so they can continue using an account after you delete yours, that’s fine—but know that once you delete your profile, other users won’t be able to log into it unless they have their own username and password.
If they don’t have their own credentials though, they’ll be forced to delete the account and start over from scratch.
What happens if I report another user for nudity or a violation of community guidelines, but don’t want them to know it was me?
If you’re worried about retaliation , there’s no need. Instagram lets you report content anonymously —there’s even an option at the top of each post—so they won’t get your name or username in their notifications. You can also use this page to tell Instagram whether you’d prefer for the network to remove this content, disable specific accounts from commenting on it or hide it from your feed (in which case others will still be able to see it on that profile though).
To permanently delete your account, go to the Delete Your Account page and select an option from the dropdown menu next to Why are you deleting your account? Click or tap Delete [username].
For security reasons, we can’t delete your account. You’ll need to log in and request deletion. If you can’t remember your password or username, our tips for logging in might help.
Instagram will never take back your revoked account. When you delete an account, your profile, photos, videos, likes and followers are permanently removed. If you want to take a break for some time on Instagram, all you need is to temporarily disable it instead.