When selling something on OfferUp, you have to post or list your item for people to find and buy online. But not always. You will be able to post items ideally on OfferUp. Sometimes you might also have a change of mind while selling an Item. In that case, the ideal thing would be to delete the post on OfferUp. But without a delete button, there might be confusion about whether you will be able to delete a post on OfferUp. So, how to delete a post on OfferUp?
Well, OfferUp is an excellent app for you to buy and sell items online. Not just that, you can even buy and sell services on the app like tutoring, dog walking, babysitting, IT support, etc. Overall it is an excellent marketplace for people to buy and sell different goods and services.
In this article, we have brought a complete guide to help you delete or remove a post on OfferUp.
You can also learn how to permanently delete a Meesho account.
Can you delete a post on OfferUp?
You cannot technically delete a post on OfferUp and remove it permanently. But, you can archive a post to unlist and hide from your profile.
There might be multiple reasons to delete a post on your OfferUp account. Sometimes you might have posted the item in the wrong category, or you might have made a post about a different item, or even perhaps you might have found a better deal elsewhere. Whatever the reason is, all you know is that you want to delete the OfferUp post. Although deleting the post is not possible, archiving the post works similarly and would be the ideal solution for you. Archiving a post won’t be visible in search results.
steps To Unlist/Archive a post on OfferUp
Archive on OfferUp helps you unlist your items and hide them from your profile. If you archive your post on OfferUp, it will be unlisted and removed from your profile or any search results. Archiving doesn’t delete the post, the post stays hidden in your profile, and you can again list the item later by unarchiving it. If you want to sell it again, you can just list the item later using the same post.
So, now that you have understood what archiving a post can do, let’s head to the steps to archive a post from your OfferUp account.
- Open the OfferUp App
- Click on the Offers tab from the bottom section.
- On the top, you will see the Selling tab. Click on it and then tap on the item you want to delete.
- Tap on the three dots beside the edit option.
- Tap on Archive, and you will see a confirmation popup; the item will be unlisted immediately after the confirmation.
No, you cannot delete an archived post or any post on OfferUp. You can Archive any post you want to hide from your profile. Just like how you cannot delete any post from the profile, you cannot delete the archived post from your profile. An archived post will not appear in your profile, and the only option for you in the archive will be to unarchive the post.
When you unarchive a post in OfferUp, it will again be listed in your profile and visible in search results. Basically, archiving hides your post from the public, so when you unarchive, it will show up again on your profile and search results. But if you unarchive a sold item, it will not appear in your feed.
Unlike the listed items or posts, you can delete the items saved on your boards on OfferUp. To delete the item from your boards, go to the offers tab at the bottom and tap on the boards on the top left. Now you just have to select the board and tap on the item you want to delete. Tap on the red heart icon from the top right corner of the item, and you will see a pop-up with the boards, select the board from which you want to remove the item. And with the following steps, you can delete items from your boards on OfferUp.
Sold items stay up to 30 days in your profile. After 30 days, your items will be automatically archived in your profile. You can always access the sold items in the archived folder. Also, you can even manually archive the items after selling them. You can also mark sold on your item to inform other people that the item is no longer available. But be careful, after you add a ‘SOLD’ label to an item, it can’t be reversed. So, always wait until you have finished with your sale.
Yes, you can recover and reactivate your deleted OfferUp account. To reactivate your account, log in with your email id and password like you did before. You can even login with Facebook, Google or Apple if that was how you used to log in in the past. You can click on the Forget Password and reset your password if you don’t have the password.
But suppose you have deleted or deactivated your account before February 2017. In that case, you need to contact OfferUp customer service to activate the account manually. People who have an account that was terminated due to a violation of OfferUp policy, you will not be able to reactivate your account. Still, for people who think the account was wrongfully terminated, contact their customer service.
OfferUp is a great marketplace for people to sell the items they want to get rid of an item or even sell services online. But sometimes, there also might be cases where you want to delete an OfferUp post. We have made a step-by-step guide to help you remove your post from your OfferUp account. And if you change your mind, you can always repost the item on your profile.
Hopefully, this article has helped you remove unwanted posts from your OfferUp account. If you have any other queries, let us know in the comment section below!