Home » App » How do you know if someone deleted their Instagram account permanently?

How do you know if someone deleted their Instagram account permanently?

Best Answer:
  1. To avoid any confusion.
  2. The first step to following.
  3. Up on an Instagram account.
  4. Is seeing how they interact with others.
  5. Search for other social media accounts that this person follows or commented on; if you find anything, it means the account never got deleted in the first place.

It’s a question that has puzzled many an Insta-fan. After all, Instagram is owned by Facebook and there are lots of people with multiple social media accounts. Which is why we’ve been putting together this rundown (complete with screenshots!) to make it easier for you to know if someone has left the ‘Gram or not.

And just in case you’re wondering, no, deleting your Instagram account does NOT automatically delete your Facebook or Snapchat accounts! That said, let’s get on with the show…

1: Are They Online? (Like On Their Facebook)

If they have a Twitter and/or Facebook account but not an Instagram one then yes – the chances are they’ve deleted their Instagram.

But if they do have an Instagram account AND they’re online on one of their other social accounts, it appears that they’ve only deleted the Instagram profile, and not their entire social media presence. So no need to panic just yet! There is however still a chance that someone really has deleted their Instagram account due to:

2: A Suspicious Profile Picture Change

Take a look at their profile picture and make sure it’s looking how you know it should be. If you think something is amiss then take a screenshot for posterity – you never can tell when this knowledge might come in handy!

Remember once again that your Instagram profile picture is set as “public” by default (if you look at the settings under your profile picture) – so any pictures you post to Instagram can be easily screen-grabbed by anyone!

  How long does a twitter account have to be inactive to be deleted?

3: No Posts/Followers Have Been Made Since They Deleted Their Account

If their last post was to say goodbye or explain why they’re leaving, it’s a pretty clear-cut case. On the other hand however if their last post was just yesterday and yet today it seems they’ve gone AWOL, there are perhaps some explanations for this (even though we hate playing devil’s advocate – we know how much missing someone can hurt!). For example maybe:

Maybe they deleted all of their Instagram photos before deleting the account itself. This would make sense as Instagram automatically saves recent photos to the ‘cloud’ so your account might still be intact even though it’s empty.


Maybe they deleted their Instagram in a fit of pique and then decided that they couldn’t live without it and re-subscribed (this happens more than you’d think!). Perhaps they’ve gone through all of this before and want everyone else to go through the same thing!

Or maybe, just maybe – there is some possibility that someone has left the ‘Gram for good but hasn’t told anyone? Don’t rule anything out until you see evidence otherwise!

  How do I change my Square Enix ID?

4: No Deletion Confirmation Email Sent To Your Inbox by Instagram.com… That Is Still There!If you’re really worried that someone might have left the ‘Gram then why not check your email for a message from Instagram?

According to Instagram, when you delete your account they’ll send you one final email. And if this is sent and it’s still in your inbox, then there’s a good chance that someone hasn’t deleted their account. If however no email has been sent or been received by you (not even in Archives / Spam) then this is another clear sign that someone has definitely wiped one of their social media accounts from existence.

So that’s it. Simple enough? Now we leave it up to you as to whether or not someone has left the ‘Gram for good! If in doubt, let us know on Facebook and Twitter.

This post was originally posted on March 6th 2015 but has been updated for accuracy and relevance to current events (Nov 2018) by his highness Jack Black. May he live long and prosper. We also recommend this article from TechRadar which delves into even more detail about leaving Instagram behind. And finally, if you’d like a simple way to keep track of all your favourite people then try Unfollowgram – an easy.

FAQ :

How do you tell if someone has permanently deleted their Instagram?
  How do I deactivate Instagram?

You can search a person’s name but you’ll only find his/her Instagram account and not the subject’s name.
This time, you won’t see any followers or following details for permanently deleted accounts. Nor will you be able to see any posts these people may have created in the past.

What happens when someone permanently delete Instagram account?

When you delete your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently deleted. If you just want to take a break or change the focus of your Instagram use for a period of time without removing any information from the platform entirely then try disabling instead.

How do you know if someone has blocked you or deactivated their account on Instagram?

To see if someone blocked you on Instagram, go to their profile. If the account can’t be found or if the profile picture won’t open, then it is more than likely that they’ve blocked you. Instagram does not notify people when they are blocked by another user, so there’s no way of knowing for sure if this is what happened.

Did they block me or delete their account Instagram?

You will be able to see hashtags related to the exact words of your username when you search. If it shows that the original user is linked, and on a page that says “User not found,” then they have either blocked you or deleted their profile.