Meta has been trying to improve and provide security and privacy to its user as much as possible, and for that, they are working hard for a great user experience.
Speaking of it, Instagram, the popular product of Meta, has incorporated the blocking system to prevent annoyance and inconvenience for their users. However, the real rivalry is when you are about to block someone, and they have already blocked you.
Here in this article, we are sharing how to block someone on Instagram who blocked you.
But, first, you must know whether you are blocked in real life. For that,
How to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram?
Remember that if somehow you see their profile page, you will not be able to see their following and follower with a message, ‘NO POSTS YET.’
Or, you will get this if you are connected from your desktop.
To know if someone has blocked you on Instagram here is how to know it.
- You will not be able to see that person’s account in the search bar.
- If the person is following you, you will not be able to see their name in your follower list, and the number will be decreased.
- You cannot follow that person anymore.
- The comments or replies on your posts will be disappeared.
- In the chats, instead of a name, you will see the message, ‘USER NOT FOUND.’
Note: This sometimes happens when the user changes their account’s username.
If you are confirmed that the person has blocked you first and you want to block them, here is how it is possible.
How to Block Someone on Instagram Who Blocked You?
Before you block someone, who has already blocked you on Instagram, the first thing that you need to do is to have access to the profile of that person.
There are two methods to do so.
- To block someone who blocked you on DM (Instagram)
- To block someone’s profile
Method#1 To Block someone who blocked you on DM (Instagram)
If you are conversing with someone, Instagram allows you to block a person from Instagram DM. In this way, that person will not be able to send you messages.
To block someone through this method, here are the steps
- Step 1: In the search bar in Instagram direct, find the profile you want to restrict.
- Step 2: Open that chat and tap on the user’s name. There you will find the option to Block. Tapping it will block that person from sending you the messages.
You can unblock with the same method.
You can also restrict the chat by going to chat settings. This will place that particular chat in the Message Request.
Method#2 To block someone who already blocked you from your Instagram Profile
To do so, you need to have a link or access to their profile through dm or other means. If you have searched for that person, your search history can lead you to it.
- Step 1: Open your Instagram and find the profile in the search bar.
- Step 2: Once you find the profile, tap and open it.
- Step 3: You will find three dots in the top right corner. Tapping on it will pop up the options.
- Step 4: Tap Block and select the desired option out of
Instagram offers a great feature to block the current account and any account that that particular person is creating in the future.
- Step 5: Tap on Dismiss, and the person will be blocked from your profile.
To unblock, you can follow the same method or go to settings and find your block list. Search that person, open their profile and unblock.
FAQs on Blocking on Instagram
To find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram, you can follow the following steps:
Step 1: Open the browser on your smartphone or laptop.
Step 2: Search the username of that person like this https://instagram.com/(username)
Step 3: If the profile page is available on the browser but not on your mobile app, that person probably has blocked you on Instagram.
Remember that if you cannot find the specific profile on the browser, that person has probably deleted their account.
Yes, you can. With a few methods available, you can block the person who has already blocked you and even from the account that they make in the future.
When someone blocks you, they will not be able to see your photos, followings, followers, and even unable to send DMs. However, they can only access your empty profile.
They are more likely to access your account through old DM or search history in the initial weeks only because of the cache saved.
If you do not want someone to block yet maintain privacy. You can simply remove that person from your following and change your account’s privacy setting from PUBLIC to PRIVATE.
You can always change your Instagram account settings without blocking an unwanted account. Here is how you can do it.
Step 1: From your Instagram app, go to your Profile settings
Step 2: Go to Privacy Settings, scroll down and search the Private Account option.
Step 3: Turn the button on, and there you go.
Block Instagram Contact
Blocking someone from their peace is better than getting upset. In case that person has blocked you already, there are always a lot of methods through which you can do it too. That is what we have shared in this article.
We hope this guide would stand beneficial for you.
Read our other article on How to View My Blocked List on Instagram?