Blocking on TikTok is a way to prevent unwanted contacts from following you. When someone is blocked on TikTok, they cannot mention you in the comments, send messages, or add you as a friend. In this article, I will teach you how to block someone on TikTok without them knowing.
Stepwise Guide to Block Someone on TikTok without Them Knowing
TikTok is a social media app for creating and sharing short videos with other users. The app keeps gaining popularity with more than 100 million downloads. You tend to have followers with different ideas due to the number of users. Thus, if you don’t want a user to interact with you again, follow the steps we explained below.
Step 1: Open the TikTok App
On your mobile phone, locate the TikTok app and tap on it to open the app. In case you have no idea, the app is a white musical note icon on a black background. It may require you to log in when you open the app. If it does, provide your details to access your account.
Step 2: Search for the User
You must get to the user’s profile page if you want to block them. There are several ways to do this, including using the search box. To use the search box, you must know the contact’s username. But if you have forgotten their username, you can also search through your follower list. Once you find the user, tap on their avatar to access their profile page.
Step 3: Access Block Option
When you are on the user’s profile page, check the top right corner to see the three vertical dots. These dots will give you access to the block interface. Tap on it, and you will have a list of options to select from, including block, report, send messages, and remove this follower.
Step 4: Block the User
After you get access to the list of options by clicking on the three dots, tap on the block icon. A confirmation message will pop up asking you to confirm you want to block the user. You’ll also see the implications of blocking them in the popup. TikTok highlighted that it would not notify the user that you blocked them.
After completing the steps, the user’s video will automatically disappear. You’ll then see you blocked the user, and you aren’t able to see each other’s content instead of seeing their video uploads. Below the account’s avatar, the message button changes to unblock, assuming you change your mind about them.
You should know that once you block a user, TikTok automatically lets you unfollow the account. So if you change your mind and decide to unblock them, you’ll have to follow them back. Also, note that the above steps work for your mobile phones and PCs. The only difference is that you log in via the webpage to access your TikTok account on the PC.
No, users won’t see if you blocked them. Because when you block a user, TikTok does not tell them. Instead, the account will secretly move to the prohibited list. If you unblock the user later, you will need to add them again to be a friend.
To see blocked users from your account, go to your profile and click on the three dots at the top right corner. After that, tap on settings and privacy, then select privacy from the list of options.
When you block a user, all activities related to both parties are stopped. The blocked user cannot send you messages or search your profile anymore. They will not be able to read your postings even if your account is public. When prior events tying you together appear, they will receive the warning, “You can’t see this user’s videos due to their privacy settings.”
Press and hold the video preview, and then select “I’m not interested.” With time, there will be less and less of this played. But, if you come across a video that piques your interest, you may add it to your favorites by pressing and holding it. After that, you can explore more content that shares the same hashtag.
You can prevent other users from seeing things you deem inappropriate with the mode. Thus, this mode helps you filter contents according to preference.
TikTok’s enormous popularity has various risks, which cause you to have a large number of followers. However, you should note that this occurs with all social networking platforms. Thus, if you observe a suspicious event with a certain user, you should follow the measures to block them. Reading the article now you know how to block someone on TikTok without them knowing.