Archiving a post on Instagram means hiding a particular entry from your profile page. The advantage of archiving rather than deleting any post is that the data related to them are retained. It is a feature introduced by Instagram so users can reinstate taken-down posts without losing likes and comments. Below are the steps to unarchive an Instagram post.
You may also learn how to Unmute someone’s posts on Instagram easily.
Steps To Unarchive Post On Instagram.
- Launch the Instagram app on your smartphone or other mobile device and open your account. Look for the profile icon. This is at the bottom right corner of your screen.
- Once you enter the profile, access your account’s archive by tapping on the hamburger menu at the top right part of the screen. This will open the “Archive” menu panel. This option is at the top of the list. Tap on the Archive option to see the settings.
- You will see “Stories Archive” on the archive settings. Tap on that to see the options. If you are using an Android device, you will see it as “Posts Archive” and as “Post” on iPhone. Choose whichever post you wish to unarchive. This will open the original post.
- Find the three-dot menu at the top of the post. Tap on that to see the two options: Show on Profile or Delete. Make sure to click on the former. The app will then restore your selected post to where it was on your profile page. You will notice that all the interactions related to it remain intact.
Archiving posts is a helpful tool if you want to save certain posts that you want to have sole access to. Unarchivingthem will reinstate them to the same point on your feed’s timeline. It will not add posts as the latest post.
No. This Instagram feature allows you to archive or hide an unlimited number of photos. This is perfect if you want to clear your current profile page or weed out any entry that no longer fits your account’s purpose or aesthetics.
Any unarchived post gets restored to its original place in the account’s timeline. For example, if you selected to archive a post from Valentine’s day of 2019, it will get reinstated to that same date on the timeline when it is unarchived.
Any archived Instagram post automatically gets hidden from your profile page. Only the user retains access to these posts through their profile setting. The rest of the followers will only be able to see those photos again if the user decides to unarchive them.
Unarchived posts go back to their previous position on the user’s profile grid. It does not go to the top like a new Instagram post. Therefore, unarchived posts will not appear on the feeds of any of the user’s followers. Additionally, unarchiving the posts will not increase the engagement of that Instagram account.
No. When you archive any post, it retains all of its comments and engagements, The only time that engagement gets affected is if you delete the posts on the Instagram app.